Connecting With Friends: Faster Isin’t Always Better

Photo By  snaps

Photo By <rs>snaps

In today’s virtual world, considering regular mail can feel rather absurd. Why would you send a postcard when you can instantly send an email or an e-card conveying your thoughts and good wishes, right?

But what happened to the charms of opening your mailbox and wondering what lies within? Hasn’t the walk back from the postbox become rather boring with only bills and flyers to expect?

Though the digital age has done a marvelous job at getting the world closer, it hasn’t been able to incorporate the personal touch that the physical world offers.

The tummy just doesn’t tingle on an electronic signature saying, “Miss you,” and the joys of hearing from someone are short lived, extending only to the length of the email message itself.

I myself had forgotten the charms of the snail mail until recently, when I met a young gentleman during my travels across the globe. As we exchanged contact details and said our goodbyes, he managed to startle me as he said, “I’ll write to you.”

Now being from the 21st century and deeply sunken into the virtual world, I found this statement to be rather preposterous.

“You mean email me,” I said sarcastically.

I failed to understand why someone would want to write to me through regular mail, since it may take weeks to arrive, when I could possibly be reading the message almost instantaneously.

… Read the Full Article on TinyBuddha

 

This entry was published on March 4, 2013 at 12:37 am and is filed under Published Posts, Travel. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

